Take A Hike!

take a hike

The Cambridge Dictionary defines the term Go Take A Hike as a “Rude way of telling someone to leave”.

Now, I’m not trying to be rude, that isn’t even close to my intent, but seriously….Go Take A Hike!

I’ve blogged previously on Nature Deficit Disorder

One the reasons I love hiking? It’s a holistic means to increase wellbeing!

Natural Bridge at Red River Gorge, Kentucky April 2014
Natural Bridge at Red River Gorge, Kentucky
April 2014
Weekend escape with my love! Red River Gorge, Kentucky April 2014
Weekend escape with my love!
Red River Gorge, Kentucky
April 2014
Red River Gorge, Kentucky April 2014
Red River Gorge, Kentucky
April 2014

Hiking is much more varied than many other types of exercise, particularly those offered in a gym. Not only can your workout be different each time, depending on the trail you take, but the landscape will also change, if only from the seasons.

Hiking is an ideal form of exercise because it is easy to adjust to any level of fitness – you can start with a gentle stroll. Hiking can be on a level, well maintained path, or up a pathless mountain. This makes it excellent for people who are hoping to improve their fitness, as they can simply take more and more difficult hikes.

Hiking outdoors connects you to nature and natural rhythms, which may increase your happiness and help you feel more fulfilled.
A difficult hike, for example, up a hill or mountain, can also help you feel like you’ve achieved something. I have a fear of heights. I purposely plan trails that will challenge this irrational phobia. As a matter of fact, this past weekend while hiking Red River Gorge, Kentucky, I panicked and had to descend a set of steps on my bottom! But I did it! And when I looked up at the cliff I had just conquered I felt accomplished. I’m going back for more!

Hiking is a wonderful activity that is easy to start and continue, due to its varied and customizable nature. Hiking can help you to lose weight, clear and ease your mind and build a healthier body.

Do you have a nearby or favorite park that offers hiking trails? Well, then go take a hike!

To Your Health!

~V

Leave a Reply

